Share the Light

65321202I’ve been quite busy lately. I’m finally sort of done with (almost) all of my tough courses in university so I got overexcited about having a tiny spec of free time and decided to join every possible extracurricular activity I had interest in. This took me back to my high school years when my mom would be exasperated by the amount of things I got myself into and would ask me “Do you really need to do all this!?” and I would go “But but… MOOOM”. The funny thing about now is that I have no one to keep track of my activities so I just went all out. For this same reason I have not found much time to paint or write blogs, though now I’m keeping a mini journal (nothing interesting really, just me babbling whatever is in my mind)

Aside from the fact of trying to keep myself together during the week and enjoying  my (still sort of busy) weekends, everything has been sweet. All though now I understand one of the reasons my mom got so stressed about me and my everything activities… THEY-REQUIRE-SO-MUCH-MONEY. I’m literally broke as I can get right now… but it’s okay. Who needs money… haha… or stability, right?

So now, let’s get down to what I was thinking to write about…

On the past year or so, I noticed a tendency ofae78ba741a4a2b6f3df5ef094ff0b0e7.jpg poetry, good literature, sunsets, quiet coffee shops, art, good music, photography, eating healthy/vegetarian/vegan, debating on politics, healthy habits such as running and gym (well, you name it) becoming popular. At the beginning I didn’t know how to feel about it… where did all this came from? Wait, what… YOU actually read Saramago? Since when? Why? I would squint my eyes at those who all of a sudden started quoting books I read when reading was “not cool”, roll my eyes when one of my favorite bands was the new “hot thing”, being skeptical about some people now finding their taste for Monet and Klimt, and felt they were taking away something from me…

I KNOW. I KNOW… (this is exactly where I wanted to get to) IT’S STUPID, RIDICULOUS AND IMMATURE TO FEEL THIS WAY. I’m actually really ashamed about feeling this way at some point because without realizing it I was being one of the traits I dislike the most: selfish. 

So many times I’ve thought about the people that don’t share something with others just to “keep an advantage” or just because they don’t want the other person to become “better” than them… Without realizing that sharing with others just makes you better and makes the other person better. There’s no subracting relation… it’s not like a cake which if I give out a piece I will have one less piece (that’s tragic). It’s more like sharing a light.

499e306ba86b07d1b2b7239c819b2a16.jpg

When you share a light, you just spread the light. (I’m not going physical or scientifical with that so please don’t…) You share with others and make the whole scene a lot brighter. When you share a book you love it’s not giving away the story and losing the feeling every page gave you but letting the others have the possibility of feeling that magic you felt (and maybe, just maybe you will even get a good recommendation back). Sharing a song doesn’t take anything away from you, it just spreads the amazingness and makes the artist a favor (because let’s accept that even though artists appreciate our love to them, they need and want to be heard by more people).

And this applies to all of the other things previously mentioned. More people eating healthy doesn’t make you fatter, other people liking art doesn’t make you less of an art lover. More people debating politics or caring about them doesn’t make you less intellectual, it gives you the opportunity to learn something and/or teach something. Why close up this light and not spread it? What good is to keep something for ourselves and deny the world the opportunity to be part of something amazing? What better than to have a whole humanity that likes to do all these beautiful things that once where uncommon?

75ca55dec4ad00ba1c5506fba2737880.jpg

So, yeah… I think I don’t need to go further on this to make my point. All good things have to be shared. Sharing just makes them better; it makes the world a more beautiful place.  A shoutout to all those who have made my life better with great recommendations I have never heard or think of, to those who by small comments made me realize my mistake some time ago, and to those who have joined me in the love I feel for some books, songs and other things I’ve shared.

Some of my recommendations: 

  • José González (specially all the soundtrack of The Secret Life of Walter Mitty)
  • El Túnel – Ernesto Sábato
  • Ensayos Sobre la Ceguera – José Saramago (this one I’m reading right now)
  • Reread every once in a while The Little Prince
  • Go to at least one museum or gallery everywhere you travel to
  • Gracias Por El Fuego – Benedetti
  • Eggplant + tomatos + spices + a bit of olive oil. Grill them for a while in a pan, put that on a toast with avocado or cream cheese (HEAVEN)
  • Buy books from bookdepository, has free shipping almost everywhere.
  • Get some cool gifts at iwoot.com, has free shipping everywhere if you purchase some amount of money.
  • Add lots of toppings to your oats and they will taste like a healthier version of dessert.

And for now that’s what I can think of.

Some great recommendations I’ve gotten:

  • Love & Hate – Michael Kiwanuka
  • The digital art of Henn Kim, Gabriel Piccolo and Chiara Bautista
  • Pedro Páramo – Juan Rulfo
  • Meditate every once in a while or turn some candles or incense on while you’re in your room.
  • HUMMUS EVERY DAY!
  • Don’t do Starbucks, change so some coffee shops at least every once in a while.
  • Dorka’s fitness videos (specially the booty and the abs one, KILLER) (just search in Youtube Dorka Kardos)

PS: If you just search for cool quotes to put in your Instagram captions I don’t like you that’s just not right. Give the whole poem a read, give the book a try, listen to the song once or twice… you don’t know what you’re missing of!

 

Leave a Reply

